48 Hours Of…Media

To kick off the “48 Hours Of” series I took at look at my media consumption. This may be a little atypically light because it was a busy Friday at work, which left little time for Internet surfing, and a productive Saturday, but here is “48 Hours Of…Media.”

Friday
6:30 – 7:10 a.m. – Listened to my iPod during a run.
7:10 – 8 a.m.- Turned on WNYC.
7:15 a.m. – Read my morning media headlines e-mail on my BlackBerry. Clicked through and read the NYPost (damn, things just keeping getting uglier at Time Inc.  Does anyone write a memo anymore and not expect it to get publised?) and WWD items.
8:05 – 8:45 a.m. – Listened to my iPod and read Metro on the N train (learning all about how my ride is only going to get more expensive).
9 – 9:30 a.m. – Scanned my RSS feeds and morning newsletters.
9:30 – 10:15 a.m. – Read through our daily Hearstlink news site before it went live. Best media industry story of the day: Is People in bed with Angelina?  Come on, does anyone think she’s not masterminding the whole media world? (UPDATE: People says she isn’t, sort of). Best Hearst story: Columinst Helen Thomas on what Bush should do in his last days. If only we could all be rocking like Helen at 89, a member of the White House press corps since Kennedy.
1 p.m. – Caught up on Jezebel ‘Snap Judgments‘ while eating lunch. My biggest media guilty pleasure. I can’t get enough of their captions.
3:30 p.m. – Breaking news alerts about Secretary State-elect (can I say that yet?) Clinton sent me to surf Huffington Post for more information and reactions. Clicked through to CNN for a while.
6:50-7:20 p.m. – Back on the subway with my iPod and a copy of Real Simple my coworker gave me.
9:00 p.m. – Dinner conversation about the DailyBeast pushed us to the computer to introduce one friend to the site.
11:15 a.m. – Listened to my iPod on the walk home.
12:00 a.m. – Read the first few pages of Obama’s Dreams from My Father before going to sleep.

Saturday
8:45 a.m. – Turned on WYNC. The radio stayed on until I left my house at about 2 p.m.
9 – 10 a.m. – iPod mix on a run and trip to farmer’s market.
10 a.m. – Back to WNYC. This interview with WD-50’s Wylie Dufresne made me hungry.
10:30 a.m. – 12:15 p.m. – Two episodes of Netflix-edSix Feet Under.” The espisode on Lisa’s funeral was the saddest yet.
2:30 p.m. – “Dreams from My Father” on the subway.
12:50 – 3 a.m. – Got caught in a string of 4 (5?) “Sex and the City” episodes when I got home.

Posted by: Lisa

Leave a Reply

