Do You Know Your Biblical References?

There is something I must confess: I have never read the Bible. It’s been on my to-read list for quite awhile now. I’ve read sections here and there, but I do not know all the stories and I realize this is some sort of literary sin. I know, I know! I’ve been missing out on obvious references in all forms of art and literature since time began. I get it already. Sometimes I must defer to my ex-Catholic, yet still guilt-ridden, husband to understand the references I come across but even he admits it’s been some years since his CCD classes. He sent me this quiz in jest yet I fared the same as he did (here’s to the power of the almighty guess). I triple dog dare you to take this BBC quiz and post your results here. It won’t be difficult to defeat me; I got 5 out of 10 correct.

bible

Posted by: Autumn.

6 responses to “Do You Know Your Biblical References?

  1. 7 out of 10. First thing, I’m not a big fan of literature, so I was unfamiliar with most of the stories. However, I am reading the Bible, right now, and part of the reason my score was pretty good was because I finished reading most of the New Testament. I’ve finished half of Revelation. I’ve also nearly finished the Pentateuch (working on Deuteronomy now), read the whole book of Psalms and am currently on Proverbs, and I finished Isaiah and am currently reading Jeremiah. My Bible plan kinda covers quite a bit of ground at once. Chapter-wise, I’ve finished 54.5% of the Bible (648 out of 1189 chapters). I’m planning on reading the whole thing again, since one read-through is never enough.

  2. i only got 4 of 10 and i went to catholic school for 12 years. please don’t let sister bill know.

  3. 4 out of 10.

    I have also never read the bible. I don’t really feel the need to, though. Maybe I’ll read the Cliff Notes version someday, but the actual language used in the bible is too much for me. It’s like reading Shakespeare.

    Explain the stories to me, that’s fine and fun. Actually reading it…nah. I understood the “Book of Life” enough without reading it. Martin Donovan as Jesus and PJ Harvey as Mary Magdalene is all I need.

  4. 4 out of 10 seems to be the magic number.
    many a time i should have gone with my first instinct…that is just good test-taking. damn it.

  5. 4 out of 10 as well…must be magic number for catholics. z got 8 out of 10. whatevs!

  6. wait, which ones did z miss because those MUST be impossible. and what about your theology degree. c’mon!

Leave a Reply

