Radiohead, Say It Ain’t So!

radiohead-20061019-170075

Today, Sasha Frere Jones blogged about the death of the album.  This isn’t news, but it was alarming because it was precipitated by Thom Yorke’s admission in Believer Magazine that Radiohead will probably never release a full-length album again.  Ever.

For most bands, this probably spells relief.  No longer will they have to worry about creating a solid 30+ minutes of cohesive, engaging and original music.  And let’s be real:  how many full-lengths have you loved over the past few years?  Off the top of my head, I can think of Green Day’s American Idiot, Yeah Yeah Yeah’s It’s Blitz, Arcade Fire’s Funeral, M.I.A’s Kala, The National’s Alligator and Sufjan Steven’s Illinois.  And how many bands of your lifetime can you say really mastered the art of the album?  In my world, it’s Built to Spill, the Beatles, The Rolling Stones, REM, U2 and…Radiohead.

 This is where I get sad.  I’m all for Radiohead’s music industry innovations – the pay-what-you-wish model, digital pre-releases – but I’m also massively, head-over-heels in love with their albums.  While I welcome more frequent, short-scale releases from the band, I can’t bear the thought of not having a Radiohead album that I can just press play on and achieve instant music bliss.

Posted by: Mariela

Leave a Reply

