Charlie Day Time! The Nightman Cometh at Beacon Theater

A Flipadelphia rivalry…Santa banging Charlie’s mom and Charlie going all “Let the Right One In” on his ass…Dennis returning to his frat glory days…and Danny Devito in skinny jeans.   These are all things to look forward to in the new season of the most inappropriate show on TV — “It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia.”  I was terribly looking forward to the Sunny Gang’s performance of “The Nightman Cometh” at the Beacon Theater earlier this week.

IMG_0321

So, apparently, were a lot of other people.  The red carpet was packed and, though I had missed Charlie (sigh), Dennis and Mac, I did get to catch Sweet Dee (finally popular with the boys; scoliosis be damned!) and Devito making the rounds.  “Catching” Devito in a crowd of people posed some serious technical difficulties.

IMG_0311 IMG_0316

After an unfortunate opening band, we were treated to a clip from the show’s upcoming Christmas DVD special and a full episode from the new season.  Then, a painfully funny trailer that captured all of the show’s moments leading to the main attraction — the Charlie-penned musical “The Nightman Cometh.”  It’s so sweet that he wrote this in the name of pure love for the waitress.  Her disdain was met by violent boos from the audience.  I guess we’re not the only ones bowled over by Charlie’s charm?

The Gang sang, danced, swirled ribbons, karated, trolled and nearly incested all the way to Dayman’s triumph.  The Grand Finale had the entire Beacon audience on our feet, hands clapping overhead, singing “OW-AY-OH!”

IMG_0330

As I was leaving, I overheard one woman saying, “Every time I leave the theater I feel so cultured.”  I’m sure she was being sarcastic, since cultured in relation to Sunny is a bit of a stretch.  But I sure felt uplifted.  And even more uplifted when I spotted the hard-to-pin-down Greenman outside by the tour bus.

IMG_0335

Posted by: Mariela

One response to “Charlie Day Time! The Nightman Cometh at Beacon Theater

  1. Dare I say…I’ve never seen the show. Gasp! I’ve heard it’s hilarious and after seeing your post, I have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

