This Week’s Top Five: Scary Movies

In honor of one of our favorite holidays, we present you with our Top Five Scary Movies!

Mariola:

1. V.

Ok it is not a movie, but I watched the tv show as a kid and it scared me. I remember being home alone on a Friday night and watching this show, and being unable to turn off any light in the house. Diana was scary fierce, though watching this clip now seems a lot less frightening.

2.Rosemary’s Baby

It is not really scary, but one of the best films in the horror/suspense genre, along with Polanski’s earlier film, Repulsion, which I still think was a huge influence on Lynch. And Mia Farrow really did eat that raw piece of liver.

3. Jaws

We are all scared to go in the ocean thanks to Steven Spielberg.

4. Twin Peaks Fire Walk with Me

I mean David Lynch, but the icky guy at her bed…and the general confusion of the film.

5. Watcher in the Woods

I watched this movie as a kid at a family slumber party. And other than being young, I think all of us girl cousins helped make each other even more scared. But let’s admit Bette Davis as an old woman is creepy enough.

Wendy:

1.  John Carpenter’s The Thing.
The first time I ever saw this film I watched it alone in my apartment, during daylight hours.  After it was over, even though it was still daylight and nothing spooky was going on, I was scared!  I think I checked under my bed that night.  I believe I was around 25 years old.

Besides, it is scary seeing Wilford Brimley as a relatively young man.

thing

2.  Nosferatu, directed by F. W. Murnau

A silent but creepy!  Max Schreck as Count Orlok is one of the most iconic images in cinema’s history.  This vampire is not sexy and DOES NOT twinkle in the sun.  He just scares the bejesus out of you and sucks your blood.

3.  I Spit On Your Grave, directed by Meir Zarchi

This movie isn’t necessarily scary for all the gore that happens later on in the film, but for the violet act that occurs to cause such gore.  Besides Ms. 45, this is probably thought of as one of the quintessential rape/revenge movies.  It is the ultra-violet gang rape that occurs to the female lead that really turns your stomach, though.  The rape scene is so long and so brutal, that you actually cheer on the lead and she targets and kills each of her attackers (even the mildy-retarded one).

4.  Last House on the Left, the original 1972 film directed by Wes Craven

Wes Craven is a horror God.  His early films are nothing short of brilliant.  This films involves not just everyone’s own worst nightmare (especially women’s), but also every parent’s worst nightmare.  The story of two young girls who go out for a night on the town only to be captured by escaped convicts.  The girls are held captive, rape, beaten up, humiliated, and eventually killed.  Chance of fate has it that they are killed right outside one of the girl’s home.  Her parents then find their daughter’s body floating in the river nearby.  The revenge that then takes place on the killers is goretasically beautiful.

5.  Night of the Living Dead, directed by George A. Romero

The founding father of zombie movies.  Enough said.

Jen Mae:

1. Faces of Death

I should begin by saying, except for on very rare occasions, I was not allowed to watch television, movies, or listen to secular music until I was about 13 years old. My mom was a bit of a religious nut, so I had to be crafty in finding entertainment.  After watching ‘Faces of Death’ on VHS at a friend’s house, I sort of understood why Mom wanted to keep me so sheltered. I’ve since become somewhat desensitized to violence, but I was only ten when I watched this and didn’t know that much of the footage was fake. I was terrified.

2. The Exorcist

This one made me think I was going to hell, for sure.  At the beginning of the movie I could really identify with Regan. The sacrilegious imagery, that creepy demon voice, and the notion that it may have been based on a true story really scared the bejesus out of me.

3. The Shining

This is possibly one of my top ten favorite movies ever.  Isolation, madness, blood gushing elevators, shiver inducing shrills, psychic powers, and Scatman Crothers for a mentor…what more could you ask for?

4. 28 Days Later

I enjoy zombie movies for their social commentary, but generally don’t find them scary.  This was an exception.  I think the quick editing and the speedy, tweaky, zombie movement helped keep me frightened.

5. Martin Scorsese’s Cape Fear

Although this isn’t really a scary movie, per se, it freaked me out. In my adolescence, I developed a bit of a thing for older convict types and this movie set me straight. I found Deniro’s performance captivating, and his chemistry with Juliette Lewis very believable.  I can safely say I jumped a few times during this flick.  I suggest you watch it at home, in the dark, by yourself.  Haven’t seen the original yet, but it’s on queue.

Lisa:

1. Single White Female:

It just keeps getting more and more out of control and no one notices it happening. I remember seeing at as a kid and being so scared to ever have to live by myself.

2. The Shining:

Typical terror at its best.

3. The Pursuit of Happyness:

Definitely not scary is typical horror movie style, but this movie terrified me. I found it soul-sickening. For weeks I was panicked about how easy it could be for my life to fall apart and end up the street.

4. Cape Fear:

Robert DeNiro is CREEPY. Bad dream, pervy old man creepy.

5. Blair Witch Project:

I saw it right when it came out when there were still rampant rumors that it was a real documentary. Even though you knew it couldn’t be, it still felt like it was more real than anything I’d ever seen before.

Stacey:

For most of my life, I haven’t really been a ‘scary movie’ lover. In fact until recent years, I sucessfully avoided Halloween, Nightmare on Elm Street, The Exorcist and Friday the 13th. Wendy would probably call me a pussy at this point in the conversation. Of the few that I did watch, these are the ones that F’ed me up.

1. Jaws

I remember seeing this opening scene through the crack of a door in my friends basement. We were spying on her older brother, as we often did, and needless to say I was NOT prepared for what I was about to see. A girl stripping one, and two, watching her flop around like a rag doll until she was pulled into the abyss. Is it the original that also cuts to her hand washed onto the shore with the crabs?! guh. This one didnʼt scare me in my dreams as much as it did when I body of water Iʼm in til this day.

Picture 1
2. Psycho

Let’s just say my shower curtain is set up so that I can see the bathroom door in case of THIS:

Picture 3

3. The Ring

When my roommate in college and I rented this, I was ‘over the hype of the ring, but yeah I’d watch it.’ We paused occasionally to confirm the noises we were hearing were coming from the washer/dryer in the basement and that it was only the tree branches brushing up against her window that were making the sounds from outside. I felt I had to make it though, and as we were discussing the film and how I hated the fake resolve… the 13″ TV/VHS combo that was black, all of a sudden turned on and all we saw was snow. I’ve never screamed so loud at a TV or jumped up that fast to turn one off. It didn’t even help that I knew that they automatically rewind and turn the VHS player of when the tape reaches the end. And I slept in her bed that night while my room, three feet away remained empty.

Picture 4

4. Candy man

I get freaked out if I say candyman more than three times in my head. In fact, as I type this I’m trying not to repeat it. ARGH! HATE THIS MOVIE!!

Picture 5

5. The Room

Even though this is number 5 on my list, I’d say its number one overall. The fact that this was even made is scary on so many levels that it’s best seen in its original form. Please enjoy.

Picture 6

Posted by: Autumn.


4 responses to “This Week’s Top Five: Scary Movies

  1. There are so many scary movies on this list that I haven’t seen! You gals are heavily influencing my movie choices these days:)

  2. I absolutely LOVED the tv show ‘V’ from when we were kids. I thought it was the coolest. I’m excited to see what they do with the remake.

    Jen, I love that you weren’t allowed to watch much, but you somehow had friends that had Faces of Death. hahah. I always felt like those were urban myths. People talked about them, but no one had ever really seen one.

    Stacey, you are pussy, but I love you for it. You made a zombie movie, so you are aces in my book. I’ll get you to watch some scary things.

  3. Umm…The Room….looks like it is one of the world’s funniest films to me.

    Is that the movie that they show the first Sunday of every month somewhere in the city? Has a weird cult following now? The one Chelsea wants us all to sit down and watch?

  4. Yeah, we moved around a lot, so I was often the new girl and I tended to attract other misfits. My favorite friend (the one who showed me FOD) was Headbanger Heather. She also taught me how to shave my legs, use too much hairspray, and drink beer quickly.

Leave a Reply

