I spent $258 at the movies last year.

Actually, I probably spent more.

You see,  in early 2009 I decided to start saving all the tickets stubs from the movies I went to see.  I have a notoriously bad memory, so I wanted to keep track of the films I saw, in the hopes that at year end, I would be able to reflect on these films and come up with the list everyone does.  The Top 5 Film List.  I am a woman with a limit budget, though.  I have to choose my films wisely.  Every now and then I’ll go crazy and splurge for the random film just because a bunch of friends are going and I want a night out, but for the most part I only see films that have somehow persuaded me to open my wallet and give up my precious cash.  Here is a list of the films I choose to do that with this year.  What does this list say about me as a person, as a film-goer? Let’s look at the list and see.

*I thought I had started saving stubs in January, but the first stub I have is late February. Either I didn’t see a film the first two months of 2009, or I had just forgotten to save the stubs.  Oops.

  • 2/28/09 – Double Feature King Kong (1933) & 42nd Street (1933)
  • 3/1/09 – Double Feature Gold Diggers of 1933 (1933) & Footlight Parade (1933)
  • 3/3/09 – Triple Feature Taxi! (1932) & Lawyer Man (1932) & Blonde Crazy (1931)
  • 3/10/09 – Watchmen Directed by Zack Snyder
  • 3/13/09 – The Passion of Joan of Arch (1928) Renee Jeanne Falconetti.  Directed by Carl Theodor Dreyer
  • 3/15/09 – Sunshine Cleaning Amy Adams, Emily Blunt.  Directed by Christine Jeffs
  • 3/21/09 – Slap Shot (1977) Paul Newman.  Directed by George Roy Hill
  • 3/31/09 – Vampyr (1932) Directed by Carl Theodor Dreyer
  • 4/02/09 – Monster Vs. Aliens 3D DreamWorks Animation
  • 4/19/09 – Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (1966) Elizabeth Taylor, Richard Burton. Directed by Mike Nichols.
  • 5/10/09 – Double FeatureWhite Heat (1949) & Angels With Dirty Faces (1938)  Both Star James Cagney
  • 5/11/09 – Double FeatureThe Unholy Three (1925) & Freaks (1932) Both directed by Tod Browning
  • 6/5/09 – The Hangover Bradley Cooper, Zach Galifianakis.  Directed by Todd Phillips
  • 7/5/09 – Public Enemies Johnny Depp, Christian Bale.  Directed by Michael Mann
  • 7/18/09 – Harry Potter & the Half-blood Prince Daniel Radcliffe.  Directed by David Yates
  • 8/3/09 – Moon Sam Rockwell.  Directed by Duncan Jones
  • 8/20/09 – That Touch of Mink (1962) Doris Day, Cary Grant.  Directed by Delbert Mann
  • 8/22/09 – District 9 Directed by Neil Blomkamp
  • 8/30/09 – Big Fan Patton Oswalt.  Directed by Robert D. Siegel
  • 9/12/09 – The Cove Directed by Louie Psihoyos
  • 10/11/09 – East of Eden (1955) James Dean.  Directed by Elia Kazan
  • 10/24/09 – Where the Wild Things Are Directed by Spike Jonze
  • 10/24/09 – Little Shop of Horrors (1986) Rick Moranis.  Directed by Frank Oz
  • 12/26/09 – Avatar Directed by James Cameron

Movies I remember seeing, but don’t have the stub for:

  • Zombieland Woody Harrelson, Jesse Eisenberg. Directed by Rueben Fleischer
  • Double Feature – Adventureland & The Daytrippers Both directed by Greg Mottola
  • Visioneers (2008) Zach Galifianakis.  Directed by Jared Drake
  • G-Force 3D Gerbils & Zach Galifianakis.  Directed by Hoyt Yeatman
  • The Room (2003) Tommy Wiseau in all credits.

So, dear readers of Matterful, what does my movie list of 2009 tell you about me?  ….besides the fact that I have an unnatural love of short red headed men (Cagney & Galifianakis).

As for my favorite film of last year?  That’s actually really hard.  Moon really made me think, but Zombieland & The Hangover are the films I had the best time watching.  Fuck Avatar.

3 responses to “I spent $258 at the movies last year.

  1. nice list. i’m a little jealous, there’s some movies on your list i didn’t make it to the theatres to see (like Moon), but really wish i had.

    like that you go to double and triple features, i never have….

  2. if you just collecting stubs in order to keep track of the movies you have watched, try http://moviemat.es. you can add the date when you watched the movie and you can even add your friends you watched the movie together. you don’t have to worry about the stubs any more 🙂

  3. that you are one cool chick and we need to watch more flicks together. totally forgot about that movie moon and need to get to it. i kept my stubs for one year and used to collage them on my wall but it got a bit unwieldy.

Leave a Reply

